ACKNOWLEDGEMENTS

The Department is extremely grateful for the generous financial contributions made to the following fellowship and award programs by our donors and alumni:

Ralph & Charlene Bauer Endowed Fellowship in Chemistry

Robert & Roberta Boschan

Chemistry Faculty for the Faculty Award for Innovation in Inorganic Chemistry

Christopher Foote Graduate Fellowship

Dr. Atsuko and Mr. Akira Fujimoto for the Roberts A. Smith Graduate Student Award for the Study of Biochemistry

George Gregory Fellowship

Gold Family Foundation

Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching

Ernest F. Hare, Jr. Memorial Award

John M. Jordan Memorial Award for Creative Scholarship

Margaret Kivelson Steven & Pamela Kivelson Valerie Kivelson

Majeti-Alapati Fellowship

Herbert Newby McCoy Award

John Stauffer Fellowship in Chemistry and Biochemistry

The Estate of Hosmer Stone

The Estate of Philip Whitcome

Raymond & Dorothy Wilson Endowment Fund

UCLA

Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry Awards Ceremony



4:00 pm November 21, 2014 CNSI Auditorium

INTRODUCTION

Miguel Garcia-Garibay, Professor and Chair

UNDERGRADUATE AWARDS

Presented by Joseph Rudnick, Dean, Physical Sciences

Alumni Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship

Kyle Travaglini

Whitcome Summer Undergraduate Research Fellowship

Sharon Huang Gary Shmorgon

Daniel Kivelson Undergraduate Summer Research Fellowship

Shahriyar Jahanbakhsh Rebecca McGillivary

Raymond & Dorothy Wilson Research Fellowship

Zachary Cornwell Jun Gao Nanetta Pon

Gold Family Foundation Award

Min Woo Kim

Hosmer Stone Prize

Zachary Jaeger Abdullah Alturki

GRADUATE AWARDS

Presented by

Professor William Gelbart, Chemistry Graduate Advisor Professor Robert Clubb, Biochemistry Graduate Advisor

Christopher Foote Fellows

Presented by Robin Garrell, Vice Provost and Dean, Graduate Division

Byron Boon Lucas Morrill Liana Hie Tejas Shah

Announcement of the 2014 Norma Stoddart Prize

Excellence in Second Year Academics and Research

Presented by Carlos Grijalva, Associate Dean, Graduate Division

Mark Abubekerov Michael Conti John Cook Jessica Grandner

Hanson-Dow Awards

Presented by Carlos Grijalva, Associate Dean, Graduate Division

Tyler Allred Kanishk Jain Benjamin Papandrea Agape Awad Liana Hie Lindsey Spiegelman

Matthew Fontana Graciela Negri

Ernest F. Hare, Jr., Memorial Scholarship

Joel Smith

John Stauffer Fellowship

Evan Styduhar

Ralph & Charlene Bauer Research Award

Ashay Patel

Faculty Award for Innovation in Inorganic Chemistry

Jonathan Shaw

Majeti-Alapati Fellowship

Tristan Rose

George Gregory Research Award

Michael Lerch

John M. Jordan Memorial Award

Alex Jacobitz

Roberts A. Smith Research Award

Maria Dzialo

Biochemistry Teaching Award

Hong Hanh Nguyen Saken Sherkhanov

FACULTY AWARDS

Hanson-Dow Award for Excellence in Teaching

Introduced & Presented by Professor Michael Jung

The Herbert Newby McCoy Award

Introduced & Presented by Professor Kendall Houk